**Date**: March 23, 2018

**To**: Chief Executive Officers and District Chancellors; Accreditation Liaison Officers

of ACCJC Member Institutions; Other Interested Parties

**From**: Richard A. Winn, President

**Subject**: Announcement of Commissioner Nominating Committee

## **Nominating Committee**

In accordance with the bylaws of the Accreditation Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC), the Executive Committee of the Commission has appointed the following persons to the Commission's Nominating Committee:

## **Commissioners:**

Dr. Richard Mahon, Committee Chair, Allan Hancock College

Academic Member, Term: 2017 and 2018

Dr. Mary A.Y. Okada, Guam Community College Administrative Member, PPEC, Term: 2018 and 2019

Dr. Willard Lewallen, Hartnell College

Administrative Member, Term: 2018 and 2019

Dr. Ned Doffoney

Public Member, Term: 2018 and 2019

## **Non-Commissioners**:

Ms. Julie Bruno, President, Academic Senate for California Community Colleges

Term: 2017 and 2018

Dr. Kathleen Burke, President, Los Angeles Pierce College

Term: 2017 and 2018

Dr. Cheryl Marshall, Chancellor, North Orange County Community College

District, Term: 2017 and 2018

Dr. Matthew Wetstein, Superintendent/President, Cabrillo College

Term: 2017 and 2018

The role of the Nominating Committee is to consider the information provided by each nominee or applicant and to prepare a slate of candidates reflecting what each would bring to meet the

varied needs of the Commission. Considering the composition of the Commission as a whole, the Committee's decision criteria include ensuring a range of competencies, representation of institutional types and geographical locations, compliance with federal requirements (such as for public members and academics), membership diversity, and broad experience within the region. The Committee's role is to ensure that, as far as possible, the slate of candidates will help to maintain a high level of qualified members who are capable of inclusive representation and fidelity to the purposes of peer review.